And the streets will be lined with gold…

I like the fact that the root of the word discipline is also the root of disciple.  Which brings me to an interesting correlation between the two – following rules.  Where they differ, however, prompts rumination.  Discipline brings the connotation of force, whereas disciple brings the connotation of desire.  Of willingness.

This morning it occurred to me that I needed to make some writing rules.  After studying my writing habits I discovered my best writing time was in the morning (with the exception of non-fiction – I do that best in the afternoon and evening), yet that has not been enough to get me writing in my best writing time.  I realised I’ve been whittling away my precious biorhythmic window with other things, hence the need to write myself some rules.

They are:

1. No internet before I’ve written.

2. Write first thing after breakfast.

3. Plan what I’m going to write, or set myself a specific task to do.

Pretty easy really.  They are my 3 commandments, which is another point of connection between discipline and disciple.   But how do I get myself to be more of a disciple and less of a sheep who is beaten into submission by fear of internal punishment or chastisement?  Or how can I blend the two ideas into my writing so that I become a disciple of my discipline, a disciplined writer?

That is the question.


About talesbytink

I've lived various lives in various places but have been a writer at heart the whole time. The experiences of being other things in other lands and times can only make my writing richer. I have no regrets about the road travelled. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.
This entry was posted in the hard yards and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

