More Success On The Road Of Yes

As I was flying from one end of the earth to the other, a small hope blossomed into reality.  A story that I submitted to a writing competition was published.  Not placed, but published, and in a ruly truly, online for sale short story collection put out by a respectable publishing house.  (Although I don’t get any of the sales, but that is irrelevent at this stage.  Had I won a place I would have won money, but that was not the purpose of the exercise.)  Due to the crappy inhibitions of not owning my own blog platform though (yet!), I’m not allowed to put in the link, so if you are truly interested, you will have to look for it yourself on the web if you search for  Stringybark Stories.

Here’s the cover:

My name in print!

My name in print!

Gratifyingly, I was shortlisted from 345 stories, and in my initial notification (which I had to keep mum on for editorial reasons), one of the judges told me that had my story not been hated by one of the judges, could have won a place, as the other 3 judges had ranked it very highly!

I paid the extra fee to get some feedback when submitting, and it was worth it’s weight in gold.  They broke down the story into interest, plot, style, character, setting, and whether it was publishable.  With lousy points from one judge I still managed to garner 73% overall, which is why my story was published I guess, even though others might have scored higher percentages.

There were also comments.  If you have the opportunity to ask for feedback on a story you submit, it is really valuable to have, so pay for it if you have to.

What feedback can look like

What feedback can look like

About talesbytink

I've lived various lives in various places but have been a writer at heart the whole time. The experiences of being other things in other lands and times can only make my writing richer. I have no regrets about the road travelled. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.
This entry was posted in the hard yards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

