learning to write

I’m back at uni.

I figured I should follow my dream instead of it following me.

I’ve enrolled in a unit of digital story telling which is a bit scary considering how little I know about using new media and computers, yet very exciting because I came up with my own idea of digital story telling two years ago (while not knowing about the already existing one), which I termed ‘portrait journalism’, and now I’ll be learning how to make that a possibility and a reality.  I also have a lot of other visual ideas that are short and punchy and will fit the medium well.   My first assignment is looking to be a pretty black little number, with a gruesome little twist on the end, aimed at social commentary of the largest kind.  When it’s done I will post a link here in my blog but that will be about 3 months yet.

I’m also sitting in that class with my husband which is cute and another more personal learning curve for us both.

In other matters, I didn’t get published even though the paper said it was all set to go.  I’m still puzzling over that.  Never mind.  The article itself is quietly percolating in my mind and will no doubt get lengthened at some point and submitted elsewhere.

In the meantime, I’ve got a uni timetable to get my head around (albeit a very relaxed one, being part-time) and a study routine to create so that I get value out of my degree.

And at some point I will no doubt master the art of writing a blog post that actually generates comments, other than one-offs about the death of my cat.

About talesbytink

I've lived various lives in various places but have been a writer at heart the whole time. The experiences of being other things in other lands and times can only make my writing richer. I have no regrets about the road travelled. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.
This entry was posted in the hard yards and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

