keep on keeping on…

Uni takes a lot of time – mental time – and other endeavours fall by the wayside a little, such as my blog.  Apologies.

Here’s a quick character sketch I put together the other day.  It does of course, retain my copyright.

His laugh remembers. His laugh remembers how to tell when it’s not working, how to see when others are jeering, how to tell when he’s going down flat, and it adjusts accordingly – high if he’s happy and yet not so sure, a bass guffaw if he’s feeling superior, or a thin tinny squeak when a threat gets up to speak.

His feet however, have no such memory.  They clod around regardless of vibes or situations, oblivious to stance or permutations, wedging themselves with fearful regularity into orifices, be they dogs’ arses, cats’ meows or the subtle hows of deeply offending someone; his feet, large and clumsy, nevertheless fit into these smallest of spaces which they could easily outrun, if they had any memory for faces.

Somewhere between feet and grin, a man sits in, determined to be liked.

I’m exploring character as a sum of more than its physical parts; how the physical can be used to denote the metaphysical or the psychological, or emotional, and how much of an entirety of a person that kind of exercise can reveal.  I think I’ve set up a baseline from which to write.  I’m not sure if I will take this further or not yet.  I’ll let him brew for a while.

Oh, and for the grammatically minded amongst you, those apostrophes are correct.

 

 

About talesbytink

I've lived various lives in various places but have been a writer at heart the whole time. The experiences of being other things in other lands and times can only make my writing richer. I have no regrets about the road travelled. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.
This entry was posted in the hard yards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

