Bookkeeping


Yes, accounting, of a sort.

This was a tally I kept in September 2012 (formerly a page to itself), before I moved back to Australia from Germany.  I meant to keep it up but as it happens, life got in the way for a while.  I may do this again sporadically though, it seems to be a good motivator and monitor of my progress.

I wrote:

This is a scientific monitor, without judgement.  The figures will speak for themselves.

September 2012

F:  2354 words   N-f: 2288 words    Monthly total:  4632 words    F: 8 days    N/F: 3 days     Total writing days:  10/30 (1 overlap)      Editing: 3 days (1 overlap)

Total days in the month writing:  12/30.

Submissions made: 0                Rejections received: 0              Acceptances: 0

2012 totals:

Submissions made: 11     Rejections received: 3     Ignored: 5     Acceptances:  3

It’s good to keep yourself accountable, I think.  Over a year has slid by with few submissions.  Now it’s April, 2014.  Last month, I should mention, I submitted 2 short stories to Overland Magazine, one was unsolicited and rejected, the other was a call out and I have yet to hear back from them about it.  So there’s still hope.  And I sent three poems out to the newsletter of the Northern Rivers Writers’ Centre, responding to a call out.  Two were accepted for publication, one has been shelved for a later issue.  It’s not paid, but it is printed.  Small steps cover ground, nonetheless.

P.S.  F = fiction, N-f = non-fiction

About talesbytink

I've lived various lives in various places but have been a writer at heart the whole time. The experiences of being other things in other lands and times can only make my writing richer. I have no regrets about the road travelled. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.
This entry was posted in ramblings on writing, the hard yards and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

