Sirens

Once, I think I heard singing under water.

I was diving off Koh Tao at Shark Island, leading a tour group under water, when a high pitched sound much like some kind of ethereal song drifted towards me. It sounded a long way off. It wasn’t whale song. I’ve heard a lot of that, the squeaks are usually short. It felt quite unreal.

I looked at the others. No one seemed to register what I had heard.

I am still not sure if I hallucinated. I wasn’t deep enough to get nitrogen delirium. And I’d only been under water about fifteen minutes.

Sometimes mysterious things happen.

I have experienced strangeness and have encountered the Wyrd, at times. Not often, but often enough to know that sometimes, things are inexplicable.

Writers need this kind of sense organ. Whether or not we can make sense of it, or translate it into some kind of experience is another thing entirely.

Sometimes, you just need to strap yourself to the mast and let it wash over you. Other times, you need to leap into the deep, and follow where the sirens call you.

About talesbytink

I've lived various lives in various places but have been a writer at heart the whole time. The experiences of being other things in other lands and times can only make my writing richer. I have no regrets about the road travelled. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.
This entry was posted in ramblings on writing, things of a certain nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sirens

  1. This is a beautiful moment and captured perfectly. I’m not sure the truth really matters, beauty has triumphed.

  2. talesbytink says:

    It was certainly strange…!

  3. Sharmishtha says:

    may be they were sirens, may be they were whales or dolphins or may be they were your eardrums trying to cope with the underwater pressure, who knows! time to imagine!

Leave a Reply

