Submitting

I’m pretty happy with my latest effort. I sent it off when I first wrote it, happy as I was with the story, the characters, the language and the theme.

It was rejected, and rightly so.

Since then I’ve done successive rewrites and it’s at a stage where it’s actually really working as a story now; the plot makes sense and the issues of clarity have been resolved, the language has been tightened and the character’s plight deepened. I’ve changed the title too.

I am not 100% sure yet that it’s the story it is meant to be, but it has had significant feedback from my lecturer, and after my first rewrite, my fellow students as well, and I’ve used their help (and encouragement) to see what the story needed to be stronger. And also to recognise that I was right to believe in it.

So.  For the moment it’s good enough to send out again, and I have.

I’ve resubmitted it to the original place I submitted it to, Glimmer Train Press, and simultaneously submitted it to a new Australian publisher, The Canary Press, which is a fitting name really, considering my protagonist is slaving down a mine in days long ago… (Although it could also be taken to mean that there’s a lot of flat little birds hanging around somewhere…)

It’s incredibly satisfying to click the submit button though, isn’t it?

About talesbytink

I've lived various lives in various places but have been a writer at heart the whole time. The experiences of being other things in other lands and times can only make my writing richer. I have no regrets about the road travelled. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.
This entry was posted in ramblings on writing, the hard yards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Submitting

  1. Thanks for the kind words. One advantage to using the ad is that it includes code that lets me know which sales occur through this entryway. The way you do this is to sign up with the Amazon advertising program, and then embed the general code that identifies any visitor to the Amazon site that came through to them by that means. This is part of their general program, which also pays a small commission (I forget the exact number, but it’s under 10%). You can check your account on line and see when a copy sells.

    How well does it work? I’ve generally adopted the approach of not selling overtly through my blog writing, other than a link at the end (“Have you discovered the Alexandria Project?”), and I’d have to report that the ads don’t generate a lot of sales. At my other blog, where I get 1,000 – 5,000 reads per post, I sold a dozen or so copies a month through that means. Lately, very few, but I do have a lot of repeat readers.

    I’ve never gotten used to eReaders, either, and rarely read a book this way. When I do, it’s often to read books on self-publishing, where I want to take notes, which is easy to do that way.

    A last note: I’d guess that I sell 20 eBooks for every softcover copy. I suspect that the split might be more even for a non-fiction book, but that’s a guess. And a final note on softcovers: I don’t think the price makes any difference. I dropped it from $14.95 to $8.95, with no change. I’m sending it back up to $14.95 this week so that bookstores can make some real money on a sale (I’ll be writing more about that soon).

  2. talesbytink says:

    Thanks 🙂 I think your advertising strategy on your blog by the way, is very good. I haven’t clicked the link yet, but every time I visit your page I am tempted to do so. I hope in the near future I can do it. My only problem with buying e-books is that I really don’t like to read for pleasure on the screen; I don’t have a reading device, just my computer at this stage. I might borrow one from uni and check out if I like it or not. I hope there are people who visit who feel like me but don’t have such qualms about it! I’m impressed at your fortitude in completing a novel, I am nowhere near even attempting one yet.

  3. There’s the spirit! And I think the idea of submitting to journals is a great idea – that sounds like an excellent strategy to not only get published, but to build credibility with book publishers as well, and stand out from the other submissions by people with no mainstream endorsements.

    Best of luck!

  4. Best of luck with your submission. I hope that Australian publishers are more interested in submissions than their US counterparts are – I’m afraid that over here these days, pushing the “submit” button is usually accompanied by a rather different feeling, since the odds of a publisher being interested are close enough to zero to be about the same.

    • talesbytink says:

      Thanks Andrew… I’ve sent it to one American publisher and one Australian. So far I’ve received several knock backs, including one ‘personal’ rejection for a story by a literary magazine which I took as fine encouragement… writers I’ve read who spoke about the long and demoralising road to getting published have all called this the ‘almost published’ and ‘on the right track’. I still have to take their considerations on board and do a rewrite. And keep sending it out. As a younger woman I was completely demoralised; I actually quit writing for 13 years. But, I’ve been published in two publications with three works in the last couple of years. Unpaid mind you, but published, I figure it’s only a matter of time! And in earlier times, my first effort won a short story competition and was published (my only paid gig so far!). It was a small local paper but it still had readers and judges and that matters as much as the NYT to me. The odds so far sit at about 3:1, unpublished to published. That’s plenty of encouragement for me. In the meantime, I have a day job 🙂

      But yes, now that you mention it, no American publishers have replied to my stories personally; but I figure there’s a lot more people writing in America so the odds are lower. The Australian publisher that I sent my story to has had writers from all over the world in it so far – even though it’s quite a young magazine. Annie Proulx was one, and I nearly lost confidence about that; but why shouldn’t I send it? I intend to take my place among my peers whom I admire, the only way to get there is to ram down the door! ha ha I am never so assuming or arrogant in every day life, but this is my writing, and like anything (or anyone more precisely) I love, I guard it like a tiger, with all the vigour of an Eastern Brown snake.

Leave a Reply

