A Novel Idea

So after years of thinking about it and wondering if I would have an idea or the skill to write a book, suddenly, on November 17, 2016, my book came to me, as did the realisation that I am ready, and that I can only find out how to write the book (and those that follow) by writing it (and them).

Turns out the ideas have been compiling for as many years as I’ve been dreaming about writing a book, and looking through old material has been revelatory, as the threads start to slowly weave in to the larger pattern of what will be my first book.

I’ve set myself a time line of sorts for the writing. I’ve set up a note book on my ‘creative’ desk. I have two in my study, one for the work, one for the dreaming. The creative desk is where I do the dreaming. The notebook, which I’m treating like a fallow field, lies open and allows seeds to fall onto its pages. I’ll be seeding this field for a while – I’ve given myself 18 months until I start writing properly, to get the idea together sufficiently – and when things start to pop up, I’ll nourish them into something that will then be the pioneer structure for the book. After all this is ready, the real writing will begin. This feels like the way to go.

Realistically I see it will be 5 years until the entire thing is finished. I imagine the first draft will take another six to eight months after the initial seeding and pioneering stage, and then it will the process of re-writing and structuring to pull out the story that I want to tell, and the eventual editorial process until the actual object exists.

I don’t imagine all of my books will take this long – I bloody hope not, because if I look at the true timeline of growth, it’s been about a twenty year long novel.

It’s exciting to be finally doing it. I’m enjoying the quiet dreamy float of allowing the book to drift in, one moment at a time, setting itself up as an idea for an eventual entity.

2016 was the year I gained the courage to pursue my dreams in reality. 2017 is the year to continue consolidating and crafting, to shape something into being.

As a portent beginning to the year, the gymea lily (also known as spear lily) sent up its first ever flower spike today, a grand, thick spear that will stand three metres tall when it blossoms.

I take this as a very good January 1st omen.

 

About talesbytink

I've lived various lives in various places but have been a writer at heart the whole time. The experiences of being other things in other lands and times can only make my writing richer. I have no regrets about the road travelled. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

