On A Roll!

I’ve opened my inbox twice now this week to acceptance emails. Yay!

Both accepted works are flash fiction. One is called ‘Ordinance Man’ and has been accepted by a new online publication called Edify Publications, an uplifting magazine that aims to do what it says. The other is called ‘In The Land Of The Free’ and is actually two stories thematically linked by place, i.e., Thailand. It/they will be appearing in another inaugural publication, Every Pigeon Literary Magazine.

Both of these stories began when I was living and working in other countries.

‘Ordinance Man’ began as a character sketch. I was living with my in-laws in Germany and had a broken leg. Everyone was at work and I couldn’t do much except mope, or work at my writing. I described a man down on the street who turned up in a council truck and walked up a laneway. Earlier this year I opened that sketch and turned it into a 600 word story.

‘In The Land Of The Free’ began as a line of story that fell into my head while on a bus trip in Thailand. The original line is in my diary. The linked stories are fictional glimpses into life as I witnessed it living and working in the south. I wrote those this year too. They come in at a sweet 400 words each.

Flash fiction is fun. It’s a great way to exercise a lot of skills and dip into a world for a short time. I love it because so many blips appear on the story radar, and flash fiction is a way of getting to know what those little shapes in the landscape are. Every one has its own tone and feel, its own dynamic.

There are so many story worlds, sometimes too many, and flash is a great way to pin some of them down and honour the magnitude of imagination with which we’ve been blessed.

The added bonus is the momentum you gain from writing and finishing works and sending them out for people to enjoy.

I can honestly call myself a ruly, truly writer now. (That’s Austrayan by the way.)

 

About talesbytink

I've lived various lives in various places but have been a writer at heart the whole time. The experiences of being other things in other lands and times can only make my writing richer. I have no regrets about the road travelled. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

